To My Friends Outside My Police Family: This is Why We Can’t Stop Talking About It.

You may be my friend in real life.  You might just be someone who knew me when I was a child.  Maybe we grew up together and we follow each others life through social media. You see pictures of my child and I get to watch as you navigate your way through life.  You see my status messages that talk about how my family and I just took our 3 year old to the park or that my husband was just promoted at work.  Maybe you witness a birth announcement or the death of a family member as you look upon my life via a social media platform.  Either way, I have, for some reason or another, chosen to allow you to be a part of it.

You know I’m a police wife or a police husband.  Maybe I’m even an officer and we’re friends outside of my job.  You may know that I’m married, have X amount of kids, and enjoy riding my motorcycle on the weekend.  You also know that you’re tired of me posting police related articles.  Hell, you may have even hidden me by now.  What’s happening to my family in law enforcement doesn’t apply to you, so why would you follow it?

I get it.  I get tired of looking at the pictures of whatever people are about to eat for dinner.  I get tired of knowing what Disney Princess you would have been or what song played on the day that you were born.  Social Media can be so intrusive on what we want and don’t want to know about each other.  But, here’s what I need you to understand, I need you to hear me.  I need you plug in, open your eyes, and raise your voices.  Something major is happening in our country and even though mainstream media isn’t showing you how intense it really is, that doesn’t mean it isn’t happening.

That’s why we can’t stop talking about it.  That’s why we won’t stop sharing.  I understand that hearing about tragedy all the time is hard on the soul.  Trust us.  We know.  We are waking up to new tragedy…every….single….day.  We are being ambushed, hunted, and drug through the unfactual statements of people who want to see us fall.  I’ll even go one step further. They want to see us die.

Ferguson Helmet

In the last month, there have been over 20 officer involved attacks and 10 deaths in the month of March alone.  Three of them were murdered and we all know that number could have easily been higher had the failed attempts been successful.  If that doesn’t terrify you, it should.  If that doesn’t concern you for our safety, we shouldn’t be friends.  If this is a lighthearted subject that you can dismiss in the blink of an eye, check the balance of your morality account.  You just might be bankrupt.

We won’t stop talking about it.  We need you to talk about it, too.  We need you to come out from the comfort of your own homes and let us hear your voices.  Stand with us, mourn with us, and pray with us.  There’s an epidemic taking place in the United States. There is a war on police.  We have to call it what it is.  People who oppose us are calling it a “revolution.”  I call it murder.

4

And, don’t refute this by telling me a story about a bad police officer.  We know they exist. We know that they are out there.  But, just like I don’t believe every banker is embezzling money or that every teacher is trying to date their students, I ask you to extend us the same courtesy of not overgeneralizing us.  It’s a dangerous game to play when you refuse to hold an individual accountable and start labeling honest, honorable men and women as murderers.  Can you imagine saving the life of a child or a battered woman from the hands of her spouse, coming home and kissing your family goodnight, and then turning on the news to see how your entire occupation is being portrayed as uniformed criminals?  I can.

If you can’t understand why it’s difficult to know that not only are the officers being hunted, people are rewarding people to stalk, scare, rape, and kill their family members.  If you’ve ever looked into the eyes of my child on Facebook, that’s who their talking about. If you need a face to put with the threat, just imagine it being a little child who is guilty of one thing; having a parent who serves his community.   If you can still be okay with what’s happening out there, please do me a favor and remove yourself from all platforms of my life.

DWGANG

Bottom line: if the news isn’t going to report our story, we will report them ourselves.  Our officers are dying.  Officers of all races and ages are being targeted.  After a whole movement of people telling us who’s life matters, will you speak up and say that ours does, too?  For those of you who relentlessly support us, stand with us, and encourage us, we have more gratitude in our hearts for you than you could ever imagine.  One kind deed goes a really long way.  It’s children like Savannah, the little girl who sent out thousands of thank you letters to police officers, that change a persons’ entire day.  I’d even go as far to say that she has changed people’s entire lives.  It’s people like Jesse, the FedEx guy, who encouraged an entire community with one kind letter on the door of an officer.  Help them make a difference.

Savannah

jessefedex

I’m sorry if the tone of this post is too angry but, I am just that.  I am angry.  I’m tired of watching my police family bury their brothers and sisters.  I’m tired of one more wife being handed a flag.  Let’s not forget who the real heroes are.  They are the ones running into the face of danger while the rest of us are running away.  They are worthy of my voice.

We won’t be silent.  Please don’t be silent with us.

Robert Wilson Green

About humanizing_the_badge

A group of creatives that is dedicating their talent to encouraging and supporting our Law Enforcement and their families. This is not a site where we are willing to allow negative comments about Law Enforcement. Don't even waste your time. If you want to debate something, leave it to the comment sections in your local news paper. It isn't welcome here. This is a place to encourage and support our Law Enforcement Families. HTB Productions 616 Corporate Way, Suite 2-4184 Valley Cottage, NY 10989
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

191 Responses to To My Friends Outside My Police Family: This is Why We Can’t Stop Talking About It.

  1. Pingback: A supporter’s pledge for my Public Safety friends | Thoughts of A Chaplain

    • Sharon Muhlenberg says:

      I agree with you. It should be talked about– all the time. I don’t know what the “main stream media” has to do with it. It’s not like FOX isn’t part of the b.s. Keep up the good work though. Our thanks and prayers are with you and all of yours.

      Like

  2. Robert Lee Taylor, III says:

    God Bless you. I am a retired trooper and public school educator. The enmity and hate towards our law enforcement community is disgusting and totally unwarranted. I loved your example of comparing it to other professions. There is a very small minority in any profession that ruin the reputations of the overwhelming majority who do their jobs day in an day out without fanfare. As the old cliché goes, “One bad apple can spoil the whole bushel.” Another, which is so appropriate for this scenario is, “Those who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.” Clean up your own act.

    God Bless you, again, I am praying for you and all law enforcement personnel.

    Like

  3. Brian Schuttloffel says:

    I am not a cop, I am a veteran. My job was easy, we knew who the enemy was. You all don’t have that luxury. And I am sorry for the state of affairs today. God Bless you all… You have my Respect and admiration. I think no less of you than I do my fellow veterans. I will keep you in my prayers. And THANK YOU for the job you do…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marni McClune says:

    My family and I stand with the officers. We stand with their families, and we stand against the criminals, media, and politicians that stands to harm them. You have our undying gratitude, respect, and Thanks for all that you and your families do for us.

    Like

  5. Nancy Rourke says:

    I have friends and family that are in the police force and they do have a tough job. Their job isn’t easy, if they stop you for something they are harassing you but who do you call when you need help? Do the officers call harassment when they come to your beckon call? I make sure to thank officers for the great job they do and tell them to be safe, just as I do with people in the service. So tired of all the violence that happens. Let’s make peace with each other, life would be so much better. Thank you to all of those who serve, it’s very much appreciated.

    Like

  6. Thomas Mick says:

    As a runaway teenager in the early 70’s I got my first bad experiences with law enforcement. As a result of those experiences over the course of years, I still cannot trust anyone I know to be a cop. I’m not saying that ALL cops are bad or that cops all deserve to be abused by the people… far from it. I just cannot personally trust police after the years of experience I had with police… it is personal to me.

    That said, the abuse I received, both from police and the courts, during those years set me on a course to understand why. When I was a child in Detroit, Michigan I looked up to the beat cops in my neighborhood and never thought of them in any way other than helpful… what changed? The following is a large excerpt from one of my articles addressing my observations and opinion. I hope that it is received in the POSITIVE light I intend it.

    “In a Constitutional Republic, the Constitution is the people’s permission for government. If the legislature doesn’t have the power granted in the Constitution it doesn’t have the power, period. Cops that have been brainwashed to enforce everything the legislature passes have become little more than bureaucratic drones, taught that their conscience matters little in the face of the law. This is the very reason I focus my attention on the oath of office because the primary object of that oath is support for the Constitution. Only laws passed in pursuance of the Constitution and in conformity with the powers granted by it are enforceable, not just anything the legislature can dream up or the majority of their constituents clamor for; we are not a democracy.

    If the police and sheriffs didn’t enforce usurpation and thus become armed thugs of criminal legislators, then the people wouldn’t be against them. America was founded on the principle of the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God, making the only legitimate power of our legislative bodies those things that secure our Natural Rights; even then, only through our consent that we can remove at any time we see fit.

    “The unanimous Declaration of the thirteen united States of America,

    When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

    We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.— That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, . . .” – Declaration of Independence, 1776.

    Allowing the legislatures and courts to determine what is lawful and just is a recipe for disaster since those political bodies are composed of human beings that will likely impose their will in pursuit of their own self-interest. The Federal Convention of 1787 wisely created a Constitutional Republican form of government, a Union of sovereign states that would check excesses of power from each other, as well as the power of the Federal Government. The oath of office binds all officers to the terms of their respective constitutions as well as the Constitution for the United States, not whatever opinion to the contrary public servants can dream up.

    Due to fraud and the imposition of amendments on the Constitution through duress after the conquest of the states in the Civil War, vital separations of power have been removed and all power today is focused on the Executive Branch of the Federal Government… certainly not on the Constitution and rights of the people. No matter how you frame this issue, cops are caught between usurpation and the people; up to now they have been squarely in the camp of the usurpers. Enforcing usurpation turns the people against police even if they had nothing to do with creating the usurpation; they are still enforcing it and that is what the people are forced to react to.

    Cops today are cannon fodder to the globalists that have gained control over our legislatures; until they recognize that fact and turn their arms against the usurpers they will remain arrayed against the people. There is just no way to positively spin this reality. Until law enforcement returns to being peace officers, the tension between them and the people will escalate and as I’m sure they know, we outnumber them so much it won’t even be a contest when our long-suffering comes to an end. The people are the Militia referred to in the Constitution and Bill of Rights and they’re rising to counter global usurpation and the threats to their liberty. Only 3% actively fought the British in the American Revolution with the aid of allies abroad, today that number without allies would be 9,390,000 men at arms, mostly hunters with a keen eye and an axe to grind with a government that is threatening everything.

    Wouldn’t it be prudent for the police to re-examine their oath and look at the oath breakers that are putting them in such an unwinnable position against their own people? I believe we will prevail, especially if the plan I wrote is implemented and the corruption is summarily removed from our offices in government along with the usurpation they’ve implemented since the Civil War. With the aid of sworn police and sheriffs, recovering our American Republic and removing the corruption would be just a matter of routine and an act of honor deserving respect by the people; continuing down this road of enforcing usurpation will end in death for millions. The writing is on the wall, there will be action… Will the Militia, in defense of the rights of their communities in support of the Constitution, be supported or opposed by sheriffs and police? Whose side are you on?

    ©2014, 2015 by Thomas Mick, All Rights Reserved.
    Permission to distribute for non-commercial purposes is hereby granted, in whole or part, provided attribution and a link to this article is included. Commercial distribution without the written permission of the author is prohibited.”

    https://publius87.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/between-a-rock-and-a-hard-place-the-dilemma-of-law-enforcement-in-the-age-of-globalism/

    Like

    • You have a very distorted idea of what justice is. I feel bad for you, but will not turn my back on police officers. I love LEO’s. Those who do wrong should fear the law officers!

      Like

      • Thomas Mick says:

        Yes… I know. The Constitution and Bill of Rights is so restrictive to the lives and safety of law ENFORCEMENT… to people like you the lives of those that ENFORCE the edicts of the legislature or the dictator running things are much more important than the people they’re suppose to protect… it’s a matter of priority after all. The state and its enforcers are ALWAYS more important than the unimportant little people…

        The Constitution is the defining law peace officers are supposed to support and defend… the only lawful purpose of AMERICAN government is to secure our natural rights… to keep the peace between individuals. If you cannot understand that then it is you that have the distortion, Mary… may your chains rest lightly upon you.

        Like

  7. Billie says:

    After all that has been said, please tell me what we would do without police officers. Who do the
    bad guys call in their neighborhood when there is trouble, the police of course.

    Like

  8. Linda Lou says:

    i worked over 20 years with a bunch of hard working men and women who wore the badge. They went out everyday facing the unknown that comes with a cops job. I myself never realized the danger, sadness and stress that a cop faces everyday, when they hit the streets. Yes there maybe a few that may be bad cops, but the majority of them are good and kind people. I am proud to say I worked with them and saw the dedication they put into there jobs everyday.

    Like

  9. Patty Seymour says:

    I am a police officer’s granddaughter, great niece, daughter, niece and sister. I made blue ribbons and wear one myself and when people ask me what it’s for, I proudly say for my brother and his family in blue. Times have changed, I never worried about my family coming home at the end of their shifts but now my brother is in all of the craziness out there. I have the utmost respect for our men and women blue. And they deserve all the thanks in the world, their jobs not a easy one! I know I’ve lived around it my entire life. So a HUGE THANK YOU for what you do.

    Like

  10. Katie D says:

    When I was in my early 20’s and had just bought my first (used) car a policeman pulled me over and screamed in my face that I had an illegal exhaust device. He was all red in the face with veins bulging and way out of line considering the cause. A few weeks later I saw on the news that he had pulled someone over and they shot him. I didn’t wonder why. When police pull you over they are usually big scary men that look and talk angry and have a gun. I’ve had a couple of bad experiences when pulled over by police or highway patrol and unfortunately I’m wary of all of them. Yes it is the few bad apples that have ruined it for the good officers. The job tends to attract people that like to have power and control over others. Time to clean house and get rid of those that don’t understand they are there to serve and protect, not harass the public. By the way I’m a 5’2″ caucasian woman, 65 years old and never been in trouble with the law in any way. You can imagine what it’s like for minorities when they get pulled over.

    Like

    • I’m a 5 ft 4 female that is a minority. I’m 32 years old. I can imagine what it’s like to be pulled over by a police officer and I can honestly say that it isn’t an issue. I also reject the idea that officer deserved to be shot because he “yelled at someone.”

      Just because I’m a minority doesn’t mean that I have bad experiences with law enforcement. That’s a gross over generalized misconception.

      Like

      • Katie D says:

        My life experiences are mine, and yours are yours. I do not diminish your thoughts regarding law enforcement, so do not disregard mine. I have members of my family that are law enforcement and I would not want to see anything bad happen to them. Is it wrong to suggest that police at least try to be polite to the public that pays their salary? It would go a long way for public relations.

        Like

    • Linda says:

      I don’t think that your experience was a good one or that it wasn’t terrifying. But saying you didn’t question why he was shot? Does shouting at someone really deserve losing your life? I think that is very extreme. Have you never in your life lost your cool? If not well you are very strong because I know I have. I don’t think I deserve to be shot for it. I agree that this type of job is attractive to bad people because of the power that comes with the position. But you didn’t really know this man. Maybe he was unfortunately having a bad day and you got the brunt of it? Maybe he was just an A-Hole but again that doesn’t deserve being shot? I think it’s a scary thing when people are so desensitized to death that something like this is brushed off as he probably deserved it.

      Like

      • Holy Wooly says:

        Just so you realize she didn’t say he deserved being shot, she was just referring to her experience and figured if he was also like that to someone else who was possibly on edge enough to shoot an officer she could see why.

        Perhaps he was having a bad day with her and maybe with the one who shot him, but if you consistently are taking your bad days out on others..especially in law enforcement, where you are dealing with all sorts of unsavory creatures, your days are probably numbered.

        God bless those that are here to serve and protect us and God bless them even more to bear the heavy burden of dealing with such troubled souls. May God grant them an increased capacity to love and to be level headed. And may God rescue those troubled souls who are headed down a path of personal destruction.

        Like

    • Kay Denton says:

      I’m a 5′ 2″/135 lbs, 50 year old white female police officer, been in Law Enforcement for 24 years… I have NEVER been power hungry or tried to intimidate anyone! I do my job. My treatment of people depends heavily on their treatment of me!

      Like

  11. Josh S says:

    I think it’s important to remember that, just as you want people to remember that only very few police are bad, there are very few people that want to hurt the police. The Black Lives Matter campaign does not want to dismiss the lives or importance of police. The BLM movement has never once said that any lives in particular do not matter or that black lives matter more than others. There are many problems in this country, but a group that has decided to focus on one problem has every right to do so and that does not mean they should be misrepresented. For decades, the mandatory sentence of 10 years for crack cocaine possession was triggered at 10 grams. The same mandatory sentence for powder cocaine possession was not triggered until 100 grams. The only real difference between crack and powder cocaine is that black people tend to use crack at a higher rate than white people. This racist sentencing law was not overturned until 2010 when the Fair Sentencing act was signed into law. An entire generation of black people were incarcerated at a rate of 6 times that of white people. Families, communities and even entire cities were destroyed by the blatantly racist sentencing. And that is just one example. White kids go to college and experiment with marijuana with impunity. Black kids in “the hood” end up in prison when they smoke a little weed. The point here is that one group like Black Lives Matter has every right to be focused when it comes to their activism. They have no obligation to be all inclusive just as you have no such obligation either. Limiting the scope of your activism does not mean that you do not recognize the importance of someone else’s activism. It does not mean that you are trying to overshadow another group. It just means that something is important to you. That’s why I find it very odd that AFTER the Black Lives Matter campaign got rolling there would suddenly be people showing up at the same place at the same time as BLM gatherings shouting “all lives matter” at them. While public space is public space, that was a clear attempt to marginalize the BLM message. I have all the respect in the world for people who want to spread the message that all lives matter, but why make it a shouting match? The Black Lives Matter people do not want a fight. They are asking for fair changes to a system that needs change. Are there a few crazy people out there that will say and even sometimes do terrible and violent things? Yes. Do they represent the movement over all? No, just as bad police do not represent all police. There can and should be peaceful coexistence for all groups who advocate that any lives are important. There is pushback to the Black Lives Matter movement because change makes many people uncomfortable. Just look at the terrible violence that was committed against the people of the Civil Rights movement of the 1960s and before. People often react in extreme ways to those who point out that the way things are is wrong. Pointing out that some police and some policing methods are wrong and need to change may very well bring out a similar response. Recently, in Madison, WI, a young man was killed by a police officer. This sparked weeks of peaceful protest that is still going on. There have been some heated exchanges between the police chief and activists, but the protests have been peaceful. Heated debate will happen, but conversation is essential to a peaceful resolution. Cooler heads will prevail.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Josh, you are a bit of a breath of fresh air. We do not want to minimize the value of any life. That is definitely not our intention. It is okay to challenge and question certain things in an educated manner. Unfortunately, the bad wheel gets the grease and that has been proven time and time again. We won’t hear about the peaceful protests because peace doesn’t sell the news.

      I would love to pick your brain on the next piece I’m writing about building a bridge to fix the gap between communities.

      Like

    • Aloise says:

      Love love love!!!!! I wish this statment could go viral. Thank you for your educated, empathetic, passionate reaponse.

      Like

  12. Pingback: To My Friends Outside My Police Family: This is Why We Can’t Stop Talking About It. | Sparrows and Dandelions

  13. John Murray says:

    I am a veteran. I understand your problem. Please know that you are my brothers and sisters. If you need us we are here for you. We will stand toe to toe with you. All you have to do is call us. We have fought for your freedom. We have bled and died for you. We are trying to take back our cities and neighborhoods. We support you and the law.
    As soldiers we understood the rule of law and the conflict of battle. We can’t become vigilantes but we can be witnesses and help you fight the battles in our neighborhoods.

    Like

  14. Nancy says:

    My father was part of the highway patrol, a son in law is a police officer and a granddaughter who graduated from the police academy. I was taught early on that police were the good guys and in my 67 years on this earth I still firmly believe that. What is going now is a travesty and it breaks my heart. The mistruths that is going on is horrible. If you don’t break the law you don’t have to be afraid of the police!

    Like

Leave a Reply

