Dangerous Lies of an American Movement against Policing.

Officer Brian Moore died today.  He was 25 years old, loved his job, and was held with the highest respect from his fellow officers of the NYPD.  When I was 25 years old, I didn’t even know who I was yet.  I was stuck in that weird world between knowing how to be an adult and remaining a child.  Brian Moore was already serving his community, protecting it’s citizens, and putting his life on the line; a decision that would ultimately call him home at an incredibly young age.

This is the 3rd NYPD officer to succumb to his injuries in the last 6 months.  I recently spent a week in New York City and I spent the time watching the interactions between civilian and officer’s on the street.  There is a heavy police presence in New York City.  You don’t walk down the street very far before seeing NYPD’s finest doing their jobs.  Before I arrived in the city, I expected there to be a tangible tension in the air.  I expected to see cops stone walled off to society as they did their jobs.  The media had told me there was tension there and I bought it.  But, that’s not what I experienced at all.

I watched as they smiled, laughed, and interacted with their citizens.  I wasn’t wearing a sign that said “I am a police writer” so they had no idea who I was.  I challenged myself to interact with them when the opportunity presented itself to me.  From asking directions to our next location, getting the downlow on the best diner in a walking distance, or just asking how their day was going, my interactions with them were extremely pleasant.

While I was in New York, the riots of Baltimore began.  I remember settling into our little room in the city and watching it all unravel on mainstream media.  I watched a literal cluster unfold on national television.  I thought nothing would ever surprise me more than Ferguson but, there I sat completely corrected.  I watched a Mayor justify the behavior of criminals while compromising the safety of her police force.  I watched the leadership that should have been coming from the top coming from the citizens of Baltimore that were tired of the unrest.  I watched a man get his car window busted out behind him while he was giving an interview about how much he hates the police.  He was then mad at the police for not being there.  I saw a kid on a miniature toddler bike ride up and stab the Baltimore Fire Department water hose to keep them from being able to extinguish a fire that had been set by rioters.  All of this was happening while the men and women of the Baltimore PD were told to stand down and watch their city burn.  God help us.  Wake up, America.

Officer Brian Moore has died.  I’m sitting here thinking about his family and his community as I watch another breaking News report about a possible shooting between the Baltimore police and a civilian.  They interviewed a woman in the community who stated that she saw a “white cop jump out of a van and shoot a black unarmed teenager in the back.”  Except, that didn’t happen at all.  A man, whose color is irrelevant to the fact he was engaging in criminal behavior, was running from the police with a revolver in his hand.   He was uncoordinated and fell down.  His gun discharged and then the police who allegedly victimized this innocent, peaceful civilian out for a jog, called in for medical treatment and a transport to a hospital.

The news today should be about Brian Moore but, it’s not.  There are people sitting in their offices clanking out stories about police brutality and a broken justice system because that’s what sells.  The day that Brian Moore was shot in the head while on duty, CNN was busy reporting about a robotic chimp that might get to go to the moon.  Joan Walsh was reporting about how black officers adopt their white colleagues opinions.  That’s why black officers have been found in the middle of the Freddie Gray case.  The white cop told them that they needed to wake up and find themselves a black kid to kill so they could jeapordize their entire futures, their families, their pensions, and their freedom.  The way the story is being told makes it sound like they all put their hands in a collective circle and yelled “Gooooooooooooooooooooooo Police Brutality, BREAK!” before they went out in the field that day.

Don’t even get me started on what social media is saying about the black police officer.  Or do.  That’s fine, too.   People who claim to be tired of racism are calling them “Uncle Toms”, “sell-out”s and, the most disgusting of all, “House niggers”.  It was uncomfortable for me to even write that word but it’s not uncomfortable for people to say that about a black officer.  They are being accused of hanging their culture up at the door because they made a decision to become a police officer who wanted to make a difference.  How backwards can we get?  The only man who is responsible for disrespecting their culture is the man who refuses to advance it by bettering themselves as an individual.  You want to know who is tired of racism?  The white cop, the black cop, the Hispanic cop, the Asian cop.  Cops are sick of racism.

At the risk of sounding too transparent, I’ve got to be honest.  After talking to a close friend, who is white with adopted black children from Ethiopia, she shared with me her concerns. It’s changing the way her mind works.  She found herself noticing the difference between the skin colors of her fellow mankind and wondering “Do they hate me because I’m different than them?” “I find myself wondering if they would still be treating me the same way if they knew I was an active police supporter.”  Even more so, “What do they think about me raising black children while being married to a cop?”  I can’t even imagine how that is affecting the minds of black teenagers and police officers across the nation.  When the world is telling you that two different groups are completely against each other, people are going to start getting on edge.

The media isn’t extinguishing racism.  They are reviving it.  

If you were an officer and you read this post, would you start to ask yourself some really hard questions?  I would.

.  Murderer

If you saw these happy looters with a handful of Jordans and Loreal running from a store that they just set on fire, would you believe it was because they were upset about Freddie Gray?  I don’t.

happy looters2

American suffers from short term memory problems.  They forget that they love a hero when they need one.  They love the feel good stories about officers who run into the face of danger during 9/11 or the Boston Marathon bombings.  It seems like there are people who only think they are only heroes if it’s a large scale catastrophe.  What they don’t understand is that these men and women are facing small catastrophes every single day; catastrophes that you could never even come close to imagining.  Depravity that would make you really re-evaluate your description of evil.  The epidemic of the anti-police movement is going to cause our society to implode from within.  People are mad that people who sell or do drugs go to prison in the United States while women who show their faces in the Middle East are being stoned to death or beheaded.  It’s not a case of White Privilege.  It’s American Privilege that’s the problem.

Every year on 9/11, the nation stands up and says “We Will Never Forget.”  Don’t be a liar, America.  Just because Brian Moore didn’t die at ground zero, doesn’t mean he didn’t die protecting New York City.  When I watched members of the NYPD lined up as the ambulance drove Brian Moore away and they saluted him for the final time, I was reminded of my promise.   When I said I won’t ever forget, I meant it.  And, I’ll never forget Brian Moore either.

God Bless Baltimore and God Bless the NYPD.

Depravity

About humanizing_the_badge

A group of creatives that is dedicating their talent to encouraging and supporting our Law Enforcement and their families. This is not a site where we are willing to allow negative comments about Law Enforcement. Don't even waste your time. If you want to debate something, leave it to the comment sections in your local news paper. It isn't welcome here. This is a place to encourage and support our Law Enforcement Families. HTB Productions 616 Corporate Way, Suite 2-4184 Valley Cottage, NY 10989
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Dangerous Lies of an American Movement against Policing.

  1. Tracie says:

    The media isn’t extinguishing racism. They are reviving it.

    Yes, yes they are. And with what happened today, Fox News going on an “eyewitness” to the police shooting a man in the back, almost causing a riot, then having to apologize and retract. The environment is explosive and the media just wants that next breaking story. Lives are in the balance and ethical reporting is needed now more than ever. May God protect our police and be with the family of Brian Moore.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laurie says:

    Thank you for this writing this article. I wish it was shared with all newspapers.

    Like

  3. Joan Storey says:

    I find this article offensive and mis-leading. IT IMPLIES YOU CANNOT SUPPORT THE POLICE IF YOU STAND AGAINST POLICE BRUTALITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY. IT IS MADE TO PIT ONE SIDE AGAINST ANOTHER. PEOPLE WHO COMMIT CRIMES ARE HUMAN BEINGS, THEY NEED TO BE ARRESTED, TRIED AND SENTENCED APPROPRIATELY. ABUSE, BEATINGS AND DEATH ARE NOT THE ROLE OF THE POLICE OFFICER. WHEN SUCH HAPPENS THEY ARE CRIMINAL AND NEED TO BE ARRESTED, TRIED AND SENTENCED APPROPRIATELY. THEY ARE NOT ABOVE THE LAW. EXPOSING AND PROTESTING POLICE BRUTALITY HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH BEING AGAINST POLICE. THIS TYPE OF ARTICLE IS BIASED, IGNORANT AND SUBLIMINALLY RACIST.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment. It is is currently being discoursed among the population on multiple media platforms.

      Here’s my response to you.

      When I’m writing about Brian Moore’s death, I’m not doing it to appease whatever politically correct platform you need me to be on. We speak about police brutality and the accountability of the job all the time.

      Thanks for telling us everything we already know. Good luck finding your next place to be offended. I’m sure it won’t be long.

      Liked by 1 person

    • KPM1118 says:

      Ms. Storey,

      I hope you take the time to read this but if you don’t then oh well, it just proves my point. I’m going to use 2012 statistics because 2013 stats just got published at the end of last year and they haven’t changed a whole lot and 2014 have not been published yet. A little disclaimer, I’m a retired cop with degrees in Criminal Justice, History, Education and Political Science. Your image of police (and I’m guessing here) is probably one of a “goonish” style which is no longer the case since competition is very high for the positions and education and training is very valued commodity in today’s law enforcement). Anyway, I digress.
      Let’s look at some numbers to shed some light on your “professionism”. In 2012 there were approximately 12.2 million arrests made across the country by some 670,000 plus officers. That is just arrests it doesn’t take into account traffic stops, traffic tickets, warnings, accidents, reports and just plain daily interactions. That must number into the tens of millions. Well, in 2012 there were 6,613 complaints filed against police officers nationwide for various reasons. Of those complaints, 1,520 were for excessive force. That is equal to .012% of all arrests resulted in excessive force complaints. Add in the tens of millions of police interactions and the number shrinks astronomically.
      Let’s look at some more numbers. Since the year 2000 there have been 2,447 police officers killed in the line of duty (including the most recent). There have been 1,130 black men shot by police officers during that time and 2,151 white men shot by police officers during that time frame. Statistics prove there is approximately a 70% decrease in deaths of African Americans at the hands of police officers in the last fifty years.
      Your claims of police brutality are unfounded, misguided, ill-informed, and simply ignorant. Does it exist? Sure. I’m not saying there aren’t bad cops. By all means there are. But those are weeded out as quick and as soon as possible. We don’t want them as much as you don’t. With that said, what you see on television when it comes to force, well, your not trained and your not experienced. Our training and experience dictates what force is used.
      You claim Ms. Shiftwell’s article is misleading. In no way shape or form was it misleading. You are either a fraud and simply anti-police or simply don’t know the truth. It only takes a little research and work to find the facts and I’m not talking about listening to the media and or other pot-stirring platforms. Take some time to speak with the men and woman in uniform. You probably won’t ever read this but I wrote it anyway.
      Great article Ms. Shiftwell!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Doreen Blake says:

    Well written… The media has become a sensationalized medium for negativity. My condolences to the NYPD family and Brian Moore’s biological family…. Sad that there is not a protest going on about a black man of criminal mind who took down an innocent white cop on duty to serve and protect his community.

    Like

  5. I am totally against police brutality….however, I am more against making heroes out of lawbreakers! 2 Wrongs do not make it right! I am more concerned that we hyper publicize bad policing but don’t want to hear why or what caused it to begin with. Let’s not talk about that…and let’s not talk about all the law enforcement officers that lose their lives on a daily basis because of criminals with weapons…..If we want fairness….then it has to be on both sides!

    Like

    • Brenda, you are a breath of fresh air after our last comment about us being racist.

      We agree.

      Like

      • I love your blog. I read most posts, and our thoughts tend to align well. I have figured out that as long as I stand on the Blue side of the line, anything I write will be torn to shreds by cop haters and race baiters. It’s a sad state in America these days. I write of my Blue family and friends frequently. I refuse to conform to anyone else’s political agenda, either. It’s MY blog, MY family, MY friends, and I refuse to sit back and be quiet. It is because of comments like some of the above, that I also made a very deliberate decision to disable any comments on my blog. I am just one of those people, I guess. I write what I feel, and nobody will ever earn the privilege to stir up such crap under MY name. Keep it going, Y’all. Awesome work… prayers for y’all and your Blue families.

        Like

  6. MJ Hefti says:

    Pardon me. My original stats were from this year. 50 police officers were killed by weapons last year–far too many, but about 315 less than “daily basis.” And many hundreds less than died at the hands of police. If we’re going to talk about fairness, let’s talk fairness and without bias, but that can only happen if we do it accurately. Without accuracy in our rhetoric, there is no credibility, and absolutely no chance of fixing the cop-citizen divide.

    Like

    • I did you the solid of not approving your post with the wrong stats.

      I think you are under the impression that police officers are upset because they are dying in massive amounts of numbers. That’s not why they are upset. They are upset because when they are hunted and sought up to be killed, the media coverage of that incident is minimal. A Houston officer was stabbed 14 times in revenge for Freddie Gray. 4 others have been shot and severely injured. Out of those 4, 1 died. But let me ask you this? Do they have to die for it to count? Can we not mourn an entire movement designed to destroy our families? We aren’t saying police brutality doesn’t happen. We just want what everyone else wants; for the individual to be held responsible for heir actions.

      And as as far as your numbers about deaths by officers, there have been bad shots. But there have been few that weren’t legitimate. It’s easy to be the Monday morning quarterback.

      Like

      • MJ Hefti says:

        I think all the lives are worth mourning. I think you’re missing why I posted the stats. It was raw data from the DOJ. I’m not sure where you saw Monday morning quarterbacking. I’m not sure where you inferred in my comments that I don’t want what you want: accountability for all.

        I did not post actual numbers to belittle police or even this site. I too work in the criminal justice field and believe in equal treatment under the law. I have family and a brotherhood of friends in blue with whom I served in Iraq and Afghanistan. You don’t have to come to every post ready for a battle. Numbers are just numbers, and they don’t lie. It was a direct reply to the last comment by Brenda, who decried the killing of cops “on a daily basis.” That kind of hyperbole hurts what you’re trying to accomplish with this site–humanizing police, which is something I support–because that kind of inflammatory and completely false information diminishes credibility for this under highlighted side of the national conversation.

        Like

  7. RODNEY says:

    Respect for Cops. This death is Tragic and my heart goes out to the family.—- But this is part of a deeper discussion. Conservatives need to TALK with Liberals. This stems from a CLASS problem. One that is ignored with calls of “why should we help those LAZY PEOPLE” & “Welfare cheats” and “those savages”. We need to do something TOGETHER for these people. IF YOU WANT TO HELP POLICE OFFICERS THIS IS HOW YOU DO IT. Baltimore has been a hopeless place for the poor. Liberals say they want to help the poor. work with us. CRIMINALS ARE CRIMINALS. NO EXCUSE FOR THEM. But there are people out there that dont see COPS as friends. They see them as the enemy. WHERE ARE THE GOOD COPS? Where are they standing up against BAD COPS? decent people exist. But don’t tell my friend to open his bag… because he is TALL and BLACK while you let other people go by with no problem…. dont do that…. THis is TOTALLY ALL OVER THE PLACE— what can you do? THERE is a lot to talk about. I;m very sorry an officer of the law was murdered by a maniac. WHAT CAN WE DO TO HELP?

    Like

  8. CML says:

    L.E.O. families all across our country are feeling they don’t matter any more. They are being disrespected by friends and family members who jump on the bandwagon of what headline the local news station is running. What I wish people would know is that we can not live in peace if we keep tearing each other down.

    “What can we do to help?” Do good things for your community. Make it a place you want your children growing up in with a bright future. Make sure your children go to school everyday. Don’t let them grow up thinking that they are a victim out of the gate. Poverty is difficult, as a child there was a time when our house had a mattress and a cardboard box to sit a small TV on. We were on foodstamps. I was NEVER taught that this world owed me anything because of it. My parents worked hard to get us out of it, and put us on the path where we could achieve anything AS LONG AS WE WORKED WITH EVERYTHING WE HAD TO ACHIEVE IT.

    I have small children and i am choosing to raise them knowing that the police, fire fighters and patamedics are our friends. That if they need help, they can call 911 and a friend will come to help. If they are lost, find a uniform and they will keep you safe. If someone is trying to hurt you, the police will stand in front of you to protect you. But I personally know people who tell their kids if they don’t do their homework, listen to mom or dad, or back talk the police will take them to jail. This stuff starts young. They have plenty of time to learn how screwed up the world is, but I feel that my kids need to start this life feeling loved and safe. Now I know that is NOT EASY in some neighborhoods, but isn’t that the dream we should be striving for?

    We also have to take a step back from our position once and a while and say “I believe 100% in my cause and I will support it, but I will also put myself in the shoes of others.” I am pro police 100%, but we can feel the loss a mother feels when she has lost her child. That is a raw and basic human emotion that transcends all other isues that are going on. I can understand how you want the people that hurt your child punished. I can feel that pain. I can understand her anger. TRUST ME, there is no one who despises a bad cop more than a good one’s family. You are even more terrified that your husband and the father that sings his children to bed after a 12 hour shift every night will not walk through that door because someone decided to punish his family for the actions of another. This is real and it is happening, but my support of the police in general does not mean that I condone those who choose to misuse the trust we have in them. I don’t think anyone should have to die from any violence, and when it happens it is a true tragedy.

    I usually don’t comment or post my opinions, mostly because there are people who take anything you say and twist it (and i know i went off on a bunch of tangents), but this is just a point of view from terrified mother who is grasping at anything to help me feel like my children will grow in a world where they will be safe, care for their fellow man, and where kindness is the norm. We can all dream right?

    Like

    • Brooke says:

      “Trust me, there is no one who despises a bad cop more than a good cop’s family.”

      No truer words have ever been spoken.

      Like

  9. John says:

    It takes a special person to do a job that may take their life on a daily basis. Some officers respect the badge while others may abuse their power just like any other profession. If you teach your kids to respect the police at a young age it will serve them well. If you talk back, are disrespectful, run, fight, or be confrontational, well your outcome may not be as pleasant as you had wished. Always comply, and do what your told. There will be time to argue later if your right but at that moment when that officer is protecting himself I would much rather be on the complying side rather than take the aggressive way out. Your actions speak volumes so think before you act.

    Like

  10. Mjlove29 says:

    Reblogged this on Turn. Cough. Breathe Deep. and commented:
    A perfect summation of the emotions and sentiments I’ve regarded over the past few weeks. Very well written, and very well said.

    Like

  11. Debbie says:

    As a writer myself, I tend to look at a situation without prejudice or bias but for anyone of any color, race or creed, to imply that racism does not exist in America today would be laughable if it wasn’t so dangerous. The Holocaust was a lied also. So was Slavery and so too, the attempted extinction of the American Indians.
    None of what is going on in America right now is new, rather, it is an unexpected outcome of modern technology. Had it not been for cell phones and the internet, much of what is now being brought to light would have remained hidden.

    What is most saddening is the fact that people who are entrusted to protect society are the perpetrators of some of the most heinous acts on said society. To “uphold the law” does not mean “above the law”. Police Officers in America must somehow realize that this type of behavior weakens us as a nation and certainly questions whether we should be the moral standard by which any other nation is measured.

    We find ourselves hurling towards tomorrow and the thirst for blood has still not been satiated.
    We all need to dig deep and come to terms with the reasons for such violent hatred between the races. If we are to co-exist on this planet, then we should busy ourselves with finding ways to do so successfully. The sins of the past, by God’s Grace, have been forgiven. Let us not allow the repercussions to be worst than the sins.

    Like

    • Debbie, I just wrote you the longest reply and then dropped my phone. This one will be a little less than what I just wrote back. You won’t find me disagreeing on most of what you said. Racism absolutely does exist. People who abuse their power with a badge exist. Criminals exists. At the end of the day, it’s a take out your own trash mentality. If there a police officer engaged in criminal behavior, he needs to be held responsible for his actions. That goes for any single individual out there. We can’t, however, accept a narrative that the criminal is always the victim and that’s where we are heading. That’s my opinion anyway. Keep in mind I’m not a journalist. I’m just a girl with an opinion. With that being said, I would also love for all parties to dig deep and find ways to be better. I always tell myself to never stop trying to improve myself. Demand better. Be more. Hate less. It’s really up to the individual.

      Like

      • CML says:

        Debbie,

        If you truly write without bias, I wish you would look at some of these recent media from the perspective of the officers (and with all of the facts and not just what news stations report). It is easy to criticize when you have never felt your life in danger, having to deal with people who want nothing more than to see you hurt or worse, dead. Not all of those people were innocent victims. Did they deserve to die? No! But people make bad decisions and we have ONE group of people who we entrust to deal with them. It is not fair for my husband to have to give up his life because some drug dealer chose to run from him and pull a gun, or a drug trafficker to shoot him at a traffic stop, or a man on pcp to beat the life out of him. We don’t see that, we see a 12 sec clip on the news, but that is not reality. Just please, take a second to think what that feels like. To stop a speeding car and not know if it is a mom in labor on the way to the hospital or a gang member who just shot and killed his girlfriend and would rather kill again than go back to jail. Just for ONE MINUTE think of what that feels like. Then you always hear “they knew what they signed up for”. YES, and they behave in a way that preserves their lives and OUR lives. They approach situations with caution, and that is why it is so important to JUST COMPLY. It is safer for the officer and for yourself. These recent stories have mostly started the same. Someone was stopped for whatever reason and they ran and they fought. The outcomes may have been much different if they stopped and talked to the officers. Well WHAT WOULD YOU DO? HOW WOULD YOU HANDLE IT IF IT WAS YOUR LIFE HANGING IN THE BALANCE? Unless you can put yourself there….in that situation….in their shoes, you are not without bias.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

